nagaland-mapThe gap between the Eastern Nagaland and the rest of the State in terms of various developmental outcomes, productivities and capacities of people and institutions is large and has to be bridged. Given the vast disparities in the backward areas of the State, a development strategy have been evolved depending upon the prevailing conditions, people’s needs and priorities. In view of this, the Department of Under Developed Areas (DUDA) particularly for Tuensang and Mon (including Longleng & Kiphire Districts) was created in 2003 with an objective to bring about socio-economic and infrastructural progress in the backward areas of Nagaland.

For successful developmental outcomes, the Department formulates policies and implements programmes for the development of the underdeveloped areas. Moreover, six other declared underdeveloped areas such as Peren & Tening in Peren District, Bhandari in Wokha District, Meluri in Phek District and Aghunato & Satoi in Zunheboto District are also covered by the Department.